Exploring the power of the Root Chakra

Exploring the power of the Root Chakra

“To be rooted is perhaps the most important and least recognized need of the human soul”.

– Simone Weil 


The Root Chakra, (Muladhara) is located at the base of the spine, and connects us to our sense of survival, security, and independence. When the root chakra is in balance, we feel stable, secure, full of energy, health, and stability. When the root chakra is off balance, we may feel easily angered, ungrounded, and low energy. 


How to get grounded:

There are few ways to clear, heal, and energize the root chakra. Using crystal therapy is a beautiful way to become grounded. Bloodstone, garnet, ruby, jasper, and smoky quartz are very grounding stones that will allow you to feel more calm and centered. Try carrying around one or two of these stones to become more connected with the earth.


Nourish your root chakra: 

Nutrition is another way to nourish the chakras. To balance and recharge your root chakra, try incorporating red apples, raspberries, cherries, strawberries, pomegranates, beets, and watermelon into your diet.


Ground down with yoga:

The best yoga poses for connecting you to your earth chakra are Tadasana (Mountain Pose), Uttanasana (Forward Bend), and Virabhadrasana (Warrior 1).  Each of these poses connect us to the earth and help bring our awareness back into the physical body. 


Connect with the earth: 

The root chakra’s element is earth, so simply getting out into nature and sitting in a quite place where you can feel the earth below you will have a very healing effect. Allow the vibrations of the earth below you to travel up your energetic spine and flow out into all your limbs.


When meditating on your root chakra, imagine a beautiful red ball of energy gently glowing at the base of your spine. Allow that energy to radiate up the body, and repeat the mantra “I am. I belong. I am calm and centered. May the energy of the earth restore my vitality”.


We will be exploring how to heal, energize, and cleanse each of the seven chakras. Be sure to follow our blog for weekly health, lifestyle, and wellness posts. 


Sending love and light your way.